How to Plan Out the End of ELD Compliance Phase 2

For the past few years, it seems like every month has brought a new ELD deadline. The first ELD deadline in December 2017 mandated general adoption for most vehicles and most circumstances. The two main groups that were excluded from the rules were agricultural freight drivers, who needed flexibility due to seasonal constraints, and vehicles with AOBRDs that had been installed before December 18, 2017.

But the end of this year spells the end of FMCSA’s planned “Phase 2,” the two-year period for transitioning into full compliance. By December 16, 2019, the vast majority of carriers and drivers will need to have electronic logging devices installed and in full use. At that point, carriers and drivers will not be able to use paper, logging software, or AOBRDs to log their driving data unless they are explicitly excluded from the requirement.

So how should you and your company spend the next eight months before December 16, 2019?

1. Make sure your vehicles have a registered ELD.

Not all electronic logging devices meet the right functionality and data transfer requirements. Verify that the devices in your vehicles are up to snuff under the terms of full compliance rather than the AOBRD phase-out period.

Checking your devices early gives you plenty of time to either install new ones or file or an extension to make other arrangements.

2. Train your drivers on the devices now.

November and December are already going to be hectic. With the combination of weather, holidays, and frantic freight demands, the last thing your company needs is an unfamiliar new assignment to bog down the end of the day. Get your drivers used to correctly tracking and logging information now so it’s routine by the end of the year. This extra practice also means your drivers are less likely to be out of compliance when you need all hands on deck.

For more ELD and semi-truck safety news, go to J.E.B. Insurance Services, LLC here. We provide commercial truck insurance in the states of Florida, Georgia, Texas, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Illinois, Iowa, and Nebraska.


David Ott

David Ott

Leave a Reply