Commercial Truck Insurance Requirements are Stricter in Florida
The State of Florida has stricter statutes regarding liability insurance than many other states for commercial truck insurance. If you drive a commercial truck it is important to meet the Florida commercial truck insurance requirements. According to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, you could lose both your driver’s license and your vehicle registration for up to three years if you fail to meet the Florida commercial truck insurance requirements.
Florida Commercial Truck Insurance Requires Coverage Based on Weight
The Florida Statute 627.4125 states that the commercial truck insurance requirements differ depending on the weight of the vehicle. For trucks weighing between 26,000 and 35,000 pounds, for example, drivers must carry at least $50,000 of coverage of “combined bodily liability insurance and property damage liability insurance.” Trucks weighing 44,000 pounds or more, by contrast, must carry at Florida commercial truck insurance policy of at least $300,000. These minimum liability limits might not be sufficient for your truck business, be sure to review your contract requirements since most long-haul truckers are required to carry a minimum of $750,000.
Commercial Truck Liability Insurance Required in Florida, Additional Coverage Available
Although liability insurance is a State of Florida requirement there are other types of optional commercial truck insurance coverage that can also be purchased to insure your business for the road. Some optional Florida commercial truck insurance coverage would include comprehensive and collision, cargo insurance, rental reimbursement and gap coverage. Contact J.E.B. Insurance Services, LLC. to talk about your Florida commercial truck insurance needs for your business.